≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Feb 2015 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review: Psychotherapy and the Quest for Happiness by Emmy van Deurzen

We have a 'not-so-bite-sized' book review this week, reprinted from Reflections Winter edition. Antoinette Stanbridge reviews 'Psychotherapy and the Quest for Happiness' by Emmy van Deurzen and finds it to have 'effortless clarity' in casting a critical eye over the deeper questions of life.

Psychotherapy and the Quest for Happiness
by Emmy van Deurzen
(2009) London: Sage


Our lives feel like an insignificant blip in the universe, an afterthought, a redundancy, a random variation on a predictable theme’.

The most remarkable thing about this book is its effortless clarity. Van Deurzen plunders the oceans of psychology, philosophy, popular culture and world religion to raise from the seabed nuggets of shining wisdom blended by her own prodigious alchemy. It’s with easy fluidity that a critical eye is cast over the deeper questions of life and how we as human beings cope in the ongoing struggle of daily existence. A superficial treatment on the subject of happiness is not the purpose of this book. Van Deurzen renders meaning to some of the more hackneyed whinges of modern living, squarely facing the paradox of our time: While never before in the history of humanity have we had at our fingertips so many contingencies for dealing with the dangers of the natural world, never before have we been so effective in controlling material challenges; never before has life been easier, safer and smarter, yet it feels as though life is still very tough.

With steadily accumulating navigation of practical realities, shouldn’t we as human beings experience a correlational reduction in anxiety and stress, spiralling an increase in our happiness quotient? This is seldom the case. Matters of global distraction and pervasive addiction lay testimony to an engagement with daily living that rarely strays beyond the cosmetic. In seeming defiance of the convenience conferred by ready-made and easily accessible material advantage, many people are living in an emotional wilderness as life becomes ever more complex and we feel estranged from a sense of universal value.

She outlines the role philosophy plays in redefining psychotherapy and puts forward a case designed to expose the limitations of scientific enquiry in this domain and the relevance of its presumption of ‘solution’ to the human condition. While not entirely dismissed, Positive Psychology, it’s tools and prescriptive methods are held in similar esteem to psychopharmacology; mood enhancing - seldom life changing. In the tradition of Szasz (1961) and Foucoult (1965), mental illness is de-pathologised, and deemed a natural consequence of ongoing struggles with daily living; the role of therapist is posited as that of existential guide in the quest to deconstruct messy humanity and the necessary limitations to mortal existence. Far from the gloom and doom often associated with contemplation of life beyond the superficial layer, van Deurzen successfully suggests a set of criteria to aid us in our thinking about in what philosophers term ‘the good life’, framing workable parameters for people in a postmodern and virtual society. One of its essential strengths is the open questioning of the single minded pursuit of positives.

‘Post modern society is positioned in a stance of disbelief, where passion is suspended and the suspicion of potential error is rife’. Crisis is welcomed as a new beginning, key to which is the observation that the life transitions which are not of our own choosing are the most difficult and distressing to deal with. Somewhat whimsically, she lends an entire chapter entitled ‘Predictable Difficulties’ to various forms of anxiety provoked by distress all beginning with the letter ‘D’. Initially this can leave a reader awestruck, wondering if this is not a faint parody of some of the more loosely formulated bestsellers that claim to light the path to a state of persistent euphoria? The legitimacy of this venture is counterbalanced by the assertion of the Latin root ‘de’ a prefix used to indicate privation, withdrawal and separation. ‘Emotions are only active as long as they keep changing in response to our position in the world, doing their job of letting us know where they stand.’

The fundamental question posed by van Deurzen is whether or not happiness is a suitable goal for psychotherapy. Is it our role as psychotherapists to dissuade our clients from their natural feelings of bitterness, anxiety and dissatisfaction with life, or help them to adjust to a universe where their sense of control is often an illusion? Clearly, she asserts, the former will obtain short term satisfaction and very likely fulfil outcome measures and rating scales, but do these prescriptive formulae really benefit our clients beyond the short term and provide them with resources to live a full and satisfying life filled with vitality and capacity for joy as well as sorrow? Existential psychotherapy is conspicuous in its somewhat obstinate tradition of celebrating of life’s labyrinths in both light and shade. There is not always a comfortable reconciliation zone for either client or therapist. She speaks instead, of a radical happiness that comes from embracing the full range of human emotion and the stories they tell; a happiness, she suggests, that is born of truth.

Antoinette Stanbridge, MIACP (December 2014)
PCI College Lecturer & Middlesex Link Tutor


(Review first published in Reflections: Winter 2014, the PCI College Alumni Journal, December 2014: Click here to read the full issue)

Emmy van Deurzen will be the keynote speaker at the National Counselling & Psychotherapy Conference on Saturday 20th June 2015 at the Gibson Hotel, IFSC, Dublin 1.  More details and tickets available here

What our Students Say

"I enjoyed the mock counselling having covered the various theories and realised which theories I was drawn to"
Certificate Student 2013, Belfast

What our Students Say

This was the best workshop I have attended, keep up the good work.
Life Writing Workshop attendee
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |