≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Aug 2014 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review 'Person-Centred Therapy and CBT: Siblings Not Rivals' by Roger Casemore & Jeremy Tudway

PCI College President Eoin Stephens reviews 'Person-Centred Therapy and CBT: Siblings Not Rivals', a book he has high expectations for.

This week I am reviewing “Person-Centred Therapy & CBT: Siblings not Rivals” by Roger Casemore and Jeremy Tudway, both of the University of Warwick.

It’s been on my shelf for over a year, and I had high expectations; it is addressing an interesting, timely topic, and I have generally had positive experience with books published by Sage.

However, my expectations were not met to any great extent.

First of all, I felt the book was not very clearly written (perhaps a risk with a two-author book).

Secondly, within the CBT family the authors only discuss the REBT approach, with little consideration for other CBT approaches (the most glaring exception being Beck’s Cognitive Therapy). This minimises the differences between the approaches, making it easier to see common underlying philosophical strands such as Humanism, Existentialism and Phenomenology. While this is useful and accurate as far as it goes, it doesn’t really face up to the main difficulty that many Person-Centred therapists have with CBT, namely its interest in working with at least some DSM categories.

Finally, the authors are explicitly not interested in an Integrative approach, only in greater dialogue between approaches. While I agree with their emphasis on questioning our prejudices and stereotypes about unfamiliar approaches, and the role dialogue can play in this, I don’t believe this is enough for the future of therapy and the needs of clients.


Eoin Stephens (August 2014)
PCI College President


What our Students Say

“Shared experience, grounded examples, very knowledgeable with varied modes of teaching, loved it.Put a huge effort into each section, very much appreciated”
Marie O’Connor - Professional Certificate in Sex & Pornography Addiction

What our Students Say

"Tutors ability to answer all our questions in a very clear and organised way. She simplified situations and made them much more easily understood for me"
Certificate Student 2013, Belfast
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |