≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Jul 2014 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Maria McGrath, Marketing Manager reviews The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt in this weeks Bite-Sized Book Review

The Goldfinch is a sprawling coming-of-age book centred on 13-year-old Theo Decker.   Theo is charmed by a young girl who is visiting the Metropolitan Art Museum with an elderly man, and wants to look at her a bit more, prompting his mother to go and take a look at her favourite paintings. Just after she disappears a bomb explodes, turning the museum rubble, killing Theo’s mother and bystanders and turning Theo’s world upside down. At the behest of a dying old man, he makes off with a painting—the 1654 Carel Fabritius masterpiece, The Goldfinch. For the next 14 years and 700 pages, the painting becomes both his burden and the only connection to his lost mother, while he’s flung from New York to Las Vegas to Amsterdam, encountering an array of eccentric characters along the way.

From the outset, the plot appeared to be fascinating and engaging - Theo Decker, who has loved and lost, who enters the criminal underworld, an individual who finally makes a marvellous discovery in life and then, of course, there is his talisman, the painting of The Goldfinch.
There is a lot to admire about the novel as the writing is excellent, the characters are very well drawn, the sense of time and place is excellent and for the first 200 pages I was engrossed with the story. However,  Donna Tartt's latest novel has left me relatively unimpressed. Theo became a very unlikeable character, suspense was built and then the storyline forgotten, and in truth the book became monotonous.  I did finish the book but this was more out of my determination to stick with it than any great interest in how it would end.

However, I seem to be in the minority as it appears that The Goldfinch is the “It novel” of the year and the talking point at
many a table so I recommend you read it and find out for yourself…

Maria McGrath, PCI College Marketing Manager (July 2014)

What our Students Say

"My memory of PCI is that it was one of the best experiences I have had in a learning environment. I am working as a marriage counsellor with Accord Kilkenny and I am now putting into practice what I learnt from your College. Thank you very much."
Mary Curtin - BSc (Hons) in Counselling & Psychotherapy Graduate

What our Students Say

“My experience with PCI was the best decision in my life, I would rate PCI 10. I'm not saying it was easy, especially starting a new career at the age of 50, but I got through with a lot of hard work and dedication. Liam McCarthy and Josephine Murphy were an inspiration and all the other Tutors I had during the four years. Since I got my Degree I have been so busy counselling, only last week I was offered another new job, its amazing. Next year I will be 70 and hopefully the work will continue.”
Rita Lett BSc (Hons) in Counselling & Psychotherapy Graduate
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |